About the Grierson Awards

The Grierson Awards, also known at the British Documentary Awards, commemorate the pioneering Scottish documentary filmmaker John Grierson (1898 – 1972), famous for Drifters and Night Mail and the man widely regarded as the father of the documentary.

Established in 1972, the Griersons are the biggest event in the UK documentary calendar. The awards recognise and celebrate documentaries from Britain and abroad that have made a significant contribution to the genre and that demonstrate quality, integrity, creativity, originality and overall excellence.

Grierson 2021: the British Documentary Awards

The 2021 Grierson Awards winners have now been announced

The ceremony took place on Wednesday, 10 November at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre and was also live streamed for free on The Grierson Trust's YouTube Channel. BSL interpretation and captioned films were provided. Download the Grierson 2021: the British Documentary Awards programme.

Awards Trophies

Duplicates of the Grierson Award trophy may be purchased by winning programme makers and broadcasters at £280 each (+ VAT and P&P); duplicates of certificates for winning and nominated films may be purchased at £30 each (+ VAT). Download an order form.

  • Newsletter Subscribe

  • Please select all the ways you would like to hear from The Grierson Trust:

    You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

    We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Like us

© 2022 The Grierson Trust. All rights reserved.